Ever tried calling google for some answers? On hold 184 minutes so far and counting

After learning that one of our clients whose YouTube analytics reported an increase of 46,328 channel views in the last month, yet the public view count reported a DECREASE of 64,017 channel views (which is not the first time this has happened), I called Google Adwords. Not surprisingly, they (again) couldn’t help me nor answer my question as to how this could happen (after all, part of those increase in views came from Google Ads we’d run on the channel so I figured it was worth a try).

So, I called google. I selected the option of “O” since there was no “department listing” that matched my needs. That was at 1:04 pm. At 4:08 I was still on hold when it became crystal clear that one of the wealthiest companies in the world, has no intention of answering my call. And they didn’t even know what I was calling about!

This is a YouTube monetized account, and my client is going to ask for an explanation as to how you can UN-VIEW something? And, no, no videos have been pulled down, nothing unlisted is affecting this huge discrepancy. Is YouTube going to be sending a bill asking for a refund of the 64,017 views that he was paid for by them – in addition to loosing the revenue he would have been paid for the youtube analytics view count that indicated he has received an additional 46,328 views this month?

Apparently there is no answer. No one to ask. No one to contact. They took my money for my google ads, and reported about 325 views, those too are not showing up in our public view count either. So that’s more money down the (you)tubes.

I don’t get how a company can operate like this! How can there NOT be a YouTube accounting department that you can talk to or communicate with? no such option on their switchboard? And don’t bother emailing them. They just send you run-around form letters that get you nowhere. I know, we’ve tried. We hired one of the most prominent intellectual property attorneys in the world. He too, got no where even with registered letters to google.

GoogleOnHold184MinutesScreenshot

One thought on “Ever tried calling google for some answers? On hold 184 minutes so far and counting

Leave a Reply

